Two women on a couch looking through a photo album while a young man sits on the arm of the couch watching.
Gerik Lyssy, Sara Corcoran and Maggie Bledsoe star in COM Theatre’s “The Tin Woman.”

The College of the Mainland Theatre was recently recognized by the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) for its work in the currently-running production, “The Tin Woman.” The KCACTF is a national theater program that works to improve the quality of college theater in the United States through a network of more than 700 academic institutions throughout the country. The program honors excellence of overall production and offers student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, dramatic criticism, directing and design.

Led by theatre director, H. Russ Brown. H, the following honors were awarded:

  • Gerik Lyssy, COM Theatre Major
    • KCACTF Irene Ryan Award
  • Sara Jean Corcoran, COM Theatre Major
    • KCACTF Irene Ryan Award

Additionally, the prestigious KCACTF Meritorious Achievement Award in Ensemble Acting was awarded to the entire cast.

“KCACTF recognition of this type is very gratifying,” said Brown. “This is a validation of the high-quality training that our theatre majors are receiving both in the classroom and through productions on our mainstage. Our incredible growth in terms of numbers over the last few years is a direct reflection of that quality that our students benefit from.”

The students will go on to represent College of the Mainland Theatre at the KCACTF Region VI Festival in March 2021 where they will compete for scholarships and awards amongst hundreds of collegiate theatre students from across a five-state region.

“The Tin Woman” will be showing through this Sunday, February 9 in the COM Theatre. For ticket information, visit