Four candidates have filed for a position on the College of the Mainland Board of Trustees, including a current student. The election is set for Saturday, May 4.

Running unopposed for the single-member district Position 1 is Verna Jean Henson, Ph. D., 72, who is retired. She will replace long-time Trustee Bennie Matthews, who has served for 36 years.

Investor Bill McGarvey, Ph. D., 65, is running unopposed for the at-large Position 6 seat currently held by Rachel Delgado, who has served on the board since 2013 and chose not to run for re-election.

Dickinson realtor Dawn King, 56, and COM student Eddie Munoz, 22, of Bacliff, are seeking the single-member district Position 4 seat currently held by Rosalie Kettler, who chose not to run again after 12 years on the board.  

McGarvey and King served as the co-chairs of the community advisory committee that supported the November bond referendum. Munoz serves as president of the COM Student Government Association. 

Registered voters within the COM Taxing District of Dickinson, Hitchcock, Santa Fe and Texas City school districts can cast ballots for the at-large Positon 6 seat. Only voters that reside within District 4 are eligible to vote in that race.

Early voting is slated from April 22 to April 30. Early voting hours as follows:

April 22-26 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

April 20-30 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

On Election Day, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.