Voters in the College of the Mainland Taxing District elected three new members to the COM Board of Trustees.

During the May 4 election, voters in Dickinson chose realtor Dawn King as the Position 4 trustee. She received 516 votes to the 117 votes garnered by Edward Munoz III, a COM student and former Student Government Association president. King will replace board secretary Rosalie Kettler, who chose not to run again after 12 years on the board.  

Verna Jean Henson, Ph. D., 72, who is retired, ran unopposed for Position 1 on the board. She will replace long-time trustee Bennie Matthews, who served for 36 years and chose not to run again.

Investor Bill McGarvey, Ph. D., 65, ran unopposed for the at-large Position 6 seat which was held by Rachel Delgado. She chose not to seek re-election after serving six years.

McGarvey and King served as the co-chairs of the community advisory committee that supported the $162.5 million bond referendum in November.