Recognizing students who excel academically, the College of the Mainland chapter of the international honor society recently inducted 27 students.

Inducted were Jasmine Arroyo, Edrick Bates, William Cowan, Zachary Dockal, Cynthia Dryer, Barry Elkins II, Maizie Fernandes, Anthony Jackson, Agueda Jimenez, Hannah Kelm, Jeremiah Lewis, Jessica Lopez, Luis Lopez, Hailey Martin, David Milling, Abbie Murphy, Esthela Ortiz-Quintanilla, Leigh Park, Samantha Pina, Lauren Rankin, Dariela Rodriguez Quiroga, Mikayla Roseboro, Raul Salgado, Liudmyla Sharp, Charles Sorrell, Samuel Uribe and Regina Ye.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa, an international community college honor society, must meet its academic standards including completing 12 credit hours and earning a 3.5 GPA.

This year, COM’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa earned a spot as a top 18 chapter in Texas and the top 100 in the nation out of more than 1,000.

The chapter has been named a Five Star Chapter, the highest level of recognition, for its service, scholastic excellence and community involvement for the past 18 years. 

This is the first year that students were able to access micro scholarships to cover the $85 induction fee. Faculty and staff funded these micro scholarships for 25 students through donations to COM Foundation. For more information on COM scholarships, visit

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at COM, visit