Faculty and Staff

Name and Title Academic Interests Contact

Anderson, D. Brian

Chair, Humanities Department

Professor of English

Biography

American Literature; Creative Writing; Historical Mythmaking; Literature of the Sea; Writing and Teaching Theory and History

409-933-8186

banderson@com.edu

Burleson, Stacey

Professor of English, Philosophy, and Humanities

Biography

Philosophy; Stephen King; Ancient Civilizations; Post-Apocalyptic Literature; Creative Writing; Poetry

409-933-8317

sburleson@com.edu

Childs, Elaine

Professor of English

Biography

Modernist Literature, especially W.B. Yeats; Gender Studies; Care Ethics; Literature in Translation; Video Games; Japanese Culture; Memes

409-933-8318

echilds1@com.edu

Davis, R.E.

Assistant Professor of Communication

Biography

Communication and Leadership in Emergency Services

409-933-8313

rdavis29@com.edu

Garcia, Juliana

Associate Professor of Communication

Biography

Culture and Communication; Gender and Communication; Personality Types and Communication

409-933-8314

jgarcia37@com.edu

Gentry, Mickey

Associate Professor of English

Biography

Composition; World Literature; Technical Writing

409-933-8315

mgentry@com.edu

Hackett, Jim

Professor of Communication

Biography

Speech; Interpersonal Communication; Business and Professional Communication

409-933-8127

jhackett@com.edu

Hammett, Beth

Associate Professor of English

Biography

Developmental Education Research; Victorian and Regency Period Literature; Creative Writing

409-933-8389

bhammett@com.edu

Naranjo, Rafael

Professor of Spanish

Biography

Beginning Spanish; Intermediate Spanish

409-933-8353

rnaranjo@com.edu

Remollino, Steve

Professor of English

Biography

Film Studies (Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror); Mythology and Urban Legends

409-933-8179

sremollino@com.edu

Serda, Dalel

Assistant Professor of English

Biography

Inquiry-Driven Undergraduate Research; Scholarly Activism; Critical Thinking and Democracy; Habits and Language of the Scientific Method in Humanities and Liberal Arts; Cross Disciplinary Discourse; Creative Nonfiction; Identity Studies and the Human Condition

409-933-8497

dserda@com.edu

Smiley, Bernie

Professor of English

Biography

The Undead in Film and Myth; British Literature; World Literature

409-933-8356

bsmiley@com.edu

Tabor, James

Associate Professor of English

Biography

Enlightenment-era Philosophy and Literature; Teaching Strategies for Composition and Technical Writing

409-933-8576

jtabor@com.edu

Walton, Bridget

Assistant Professor of English

Biography

Developmental Education; Composition and Rhetoric; Multicultural Literature; Women's Literature

409-933-8218

bwalton1@com.edu

White, Gilchrist

Professor of English

Biography

British Literature of the Renaissance; Stephen King; American History

409-933-8316

gwhite@com.edu

Stay Connected with COM: