COM’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter inducts new members

Posted on: November 09, 2012

College of the Mainland’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national community college honor society, recently inducted eight members, honoring their academic excellence.

The inductees are Shelby Gonzales, Jacob Standley, Sandra Field, Stacy Papillion, Darci Bozeman, Victoria Hernandez, Geri Morrison and Krystal Chaisson.

“The honor society is by invitation only and those students who become eligible are being recognized for their academic achievement,” said Dr. Chris Allen, COM professor and PTK advisor. “Membership in the chapter gives them new opportunities to be eligible for scholarships and participate in leadership and community service projects.”

PTK members must meet its academic standards including maintaining a 3.5 GPA. COM’s PTK chapter is also actively involved in academic and service projects on campus and in the community, including a recent College Boot Camp to help prepare students in area high schools for the rigors of college.

At the ceremony Brian Anderson, COM humanities professor, shared a personal reflection on his college experiences and the importance of a college education.

« Back to Articles